Renishaw declared company of the year at NMI’s 20th anniversary awards

Renishaw has been named company of the year at yesterday’s NMI Awards. The Gloucestershire-based company is a world leader in the development of precision- measurement systems for systems as diverse as jet engine manufacturing and brain surgery.

Image caption: Stephen Anderson and Pete Leonard receive the 2016 NMI Company of the Year Award for Renishaw


The night also saw Ultrahaptics take the Innovation of the Year award for its touchless haptic interface and the machine-learning-based predictive maintenance firm Senseye took the emerging company of the year award.


The Awards and Gala Dinner, which also saw the electronics systems trade body’s 20th anniversary celebrations, was also attended by the Rt Hon Matt Hancock MP, the Minister of State responsible for digital policy.

Image caption: Imagination Technologies” Keno Mario-Ghae (centre) takes Young Engineer of the Year at the annual NMI Awards


Speaking at the event, NMI’s CEO Derek Boyd said: “This year’s winner is considered to be a hidden gem in the Great British crown. It is a world leader in additive manufacturing and the only UK business that makes industrial machines using metal powder.


“With 16 per cent of revenue spent on engineering and R&D, it also has a commitment to the future and excellence. Also worthy of note is that it is also encouraging to see that “people” are a significant element of its strategy.”

Image caption: John Parkes, James Pattison and Miriam Evans receive the 2016 NMI Product of the Year Award for XAAR


The annual NMI Awards celebrate the year’s key electronics innovations, people and companies from across the UK and Ireland. Last night’s awards were held at a prestigious venue in London’s Bankside.


Other key winners included Imagination’s Keno Mario-Ghae, who won the Young Engineer of the Year Award; XAAR, which took home the Product of the Year Award and Swansea University’s Electronics Systems Design Centre, which won the University Research Group of the Year Award.

Image caption: Steve Cliffe receives the 2016 NMI Innovation Award for Ultrahaptics


The full list of winners, in order of presentation, were:


·      The UKESF Scholar of the Year Award – Joanna Taylor – University of Bristol / Imagination

·      The Young Engineer of the Year award – Keno Mario-Ghae, Imagination

·      The Innovation Award – Ultrahaptics

·      Emerging Technology Company – Senseye

·      The Silicon to Software Design Award – Vertizan & Cascoda jointly

·      The More than Moore Award – Sequans

·      The Automotive Electronics Innovation & Excellence Award – Fusion Processing

·      The Research Collaboration Award – Ultra Electronics

·      The Product of the Year Award – XAAR

·      The University Research Group of the Year Award – Swansea University

·      The Manufacturing Site of the Year Award – Diodes Inc.

·      The Manufacturing Supplier of the Year Award – KMG Ultra Pure Chemicals

·      The Company of the Year Award – Renishaw

Check Also

Inseto invests in wedge bonder and launches two training courses

Inseto, a technical distributor of equipment and materials, has invested in a Kulicke & Soffa …